Revolutions are not for dumb people!

Hey all!

My apologies to each reader of my blog, to the wonderful bloggers in my bloglist, and to those bloggers in whose list I’m honoured to be a part of. My apologies to all of you for neglecting the blog world for some time now. I have not been updating my blog regularly (that too, when the Avant Garde Blogie Awards nominations are happening, damn!), I have not been responding to your comments, and I have not been visiting any blogs either. I’ve been a bad, bad, really bad blogger 😦

In my favour, I’d like to say that I have been caught up in a couple of weird things that’s been keeping me busy these days. A computer that logs me out automatically — and shuts down too — when it feels like (leaving me with a really dumb expression each time); a Mom who keeps calling me downstairs every 4th minute; a Dad who remembers he’s got “urgent work to be completed” only when I choose to use the system; a brother who…ummm…naah…can’t really find anything against him πŸ˜€ ; and a perpetual boredom in life that keeps giving me strange and foreboding signals of my future!

So, that done, let me tell you what happened when I decided to join the most happening Revolution in the blog world!

Today evening, when I woke up after a short nap, I slowly looked around around me. The signs were good. Mom was happily gossipping with her brother and sister-in-law. Dad was chatting up with an old friend (sign that he would not think of ‘work’ for a while). My computer was not acting strange at all!

Time to blog, I realised! I sat down in front of the system and logged into Gmail, Orkut and WP. I waited for 5 minutes. It didn’t log me off! Was I happy! And then, Nikhil called. We discussed “rude bloggers” for a while and he asked me if I’d joined the Commenting is a privilege, not a right! revolution.
I felt really ancient! I didn’t even know about it! 😦

Well, though I’d already been in despair about being a bad-blogger lately, he made me furthermore guilty, saying his blog, and many others, had been neglected! “I’m hurt”, he said. πŸ˜€
I felt sheepish. I’m sure I sounded so too 😐

I said, “Look, I’d been really busy…I’m sorry…I haven’t been checking any of the blogs lately…” etc etc. He kept saying “I’m hurt! I’m more hurt!” πŸ˜› Well, to change the topic, I latched on to the Revolution badge — and I asked him to help me put it up.
It was then that I felt like an ancient sheepish dumbo! πŸ˜€

He explained things over phone to me. “Open a new text widget. Add the code. Save changes…” etc etc. I was awed, wondering how people know such stuff. “It’s basic HTML”, he said. Ahem! that put me in the not-so-knowledgeable-about-basic-stuff category! In spite of having fed the widget with the code, the badge refused to come to life. When he started explaining it all over again, I, like a genius, blurted out that I’d added the code to a widget that was already there.

“What?? You needed to add a little more code, then! I asked you to create a new text widget. You should’ve told me you were adding it in the same old one! I asked you whether you opened a new widget and you said yes! Brilliant! Great! Oh. My. God!”

😯 I’ve never heard him sound so mad! Of course, he refused to agree that he was mad at me. Politely, instead of saying “How dumb can you be?”, he said “I’m amused”.

Patiently, he explained it all over again — the angel! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰
(While he patiently explained it again, I was kinda ROFL silently! Well, apparently, I was not as silent about it as I should have been 😦 !)

P.S.: But well, the badge is up! I’ve joined the War-Against-Trolls! πŸ˜€
And sorry for such a senseless post, people. I’m still in the daze of ‘being screamed at’! πŸ˜€

25 thoughts on “Revolutions are not for dumb people!

  1. Poor old Nikhil !!

    Doesnt wordpress allow you to add pictures onto your sidebars??? ‘cuz when I took the badge from Nikhil, it was a picture file and all I had to do was insert the copied picture. No HTNL coding required.

    Btw, I had nominated some of your posts for the awards. All the best !!! πŸ˜€

  2. “Ahem! that put me in the not-so-knowledgeable-about-basic-stuff category!”

    Dont let Nikhil make u feel that!!! He didn’t know what is a torrent or whats a torrent client or whats seeding i.e. basically all the basics of downloading movie from internet!! and he still doesnt use feed reader. He goes to each blog and reads the recent post!!

    Btw how did u upload the earlier images on ur side bar if u didnt know how to do it? Or did u forget the procedure?

  3. @Vimal
    I get shouted at. You say “Poor old Nikhil”. The world is not fair anymore! πŸ˜›

    And hey!! Thanks for the nominations!! So, that was you! I was wondering…thank you!!! πŸ™‚
    I still haven’t done my part!

    @Reema
    😯 That does not make me feel any better! In fact, I feel dumber. Torrents?? Torrent clients too?? 😯 Seeding? Feed reader? Damn! 😐 😦
    As for the other images…well, I’ll let you in on a secret…pssst… He helps me all the time πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰
    But this was the first time I decided to act smart πŸ˜€

  4. Haaa…..ha….ha…. πŸ˜†

    Don’t worry, we together can creat a club of “not-so-knowledgeable-about-basic-stuff” πŸ™‚ You be the president and i will be the secretory πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    BTW, i have also put up the badge, to join the movement! πŸ™‚

  5. @Sakhi
    πŸ˜† Hmmm thr also, I’m Preseident! So you do know a few things πŸ˜‰
    Yey! Let’s attack all ’em Trolls. Docs will have a busy time πŸ˜‰ You can take yur revenge thr too πŸ˜€
    @Vishesh
    Waiting for the trolls? Wow….now that’s new!
    Yeah, I know! πŸ˜€

  6. Ha Ha I can relate to you…I have been trying to add pages to my blog but have been unsuccessful till now. I even added my prob on bloggers help forum but I have still not reached anywhere 😦

    And thanks for reminding me, I was somehow or the other forgetting to add the badge in my blog but have done that now πŸ™‚

    And glad to have you back πŸ™‚

  7. Most of the girls are good at solving complex problems. Basics are our(guys) forte :D.
    Glad that you finally managed to put up that badge. Like vimal mentioned it’s easier to put badges in blogger. Welcome back!!

  8. LOL…. senseless post!!! i don think so coz it made me laugh as usual… πŸ™‚

    “While he patiently explained it again, I was kinda ROFL silently! Well, apparently, I was not as silent about it as I should have been “—– ROFL i hav done this so many times with my friends after being stupid n dumb… n trust me its so much fun LOL….

  9. rofl! seriously female! tats y i dont converse much wen i m tryin such ‘basic’ stuff.. i jus ask some guy (last was varun) to mail it to me step by step n jus do it or simply try it out in some1 else’s n wen or if at all it works, do the right one in mine… πŸ˜€

  10. @Reema
    Do not slander me, woman! You didn’t know how to reduce the size of an image and how to put two pictures side-by-side in MS Paint..!!!!! πŸ˜›
    πŸ˜›

    @Amit
    Don’t trust Reema, dude. She’s just jealous that she doesn’t know how to operate MS Paint!! πŸ˜€

    @Scorpria
    LOL, you’re welcome, I guess! It worked in the end, didn’t it? πŸ˜€
    I was never mad, you just assumed I was..!! πŸ˜›

  11. @Smita
    Finalyy! Some relief! πŸ˜‰
    And the person yu need to approach is Nikhil…no forum can help yu ;)(Nikhil, All publicity is not free πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ )
    Am glad to b bac too! πŸ™‚

    @Varun
    πŸ˜€ That’s true! πŸ˜‰
    Blogger…well…whtever th case, i’d still not know basics…esp of HTML πŸ˜€

    @Amit
    πŸ˜€ Yea! Poor me indeed!

    @Smrithi
    Thanks πŸ™‚
    Yea…it’s great fun…sometimes, I even do it on purpose…but in this case, i admit, i was seriously dumb πŸ˜€ (jus clarifying, in case Nikhil decides never to help again :D)

    @Manasa
    Thanks πŸ˜€

    @AV
    LOL…yea! hehehe…damn! why did i write this? the whole world now knows i’m dumb πŸ˜€

    @Nikhil
    πŸ™‚ Yea, it did.
    Ok, I believe you! πŸ˜›

  12. haha …..you are not alone! i too dont have much knowledge of basic html.so its always a hit and trial which works for me πŸ˜€ and do nominate for avante garde bloggies you have some good post….i think i had nominate your frog story…..nominating…….. πŸ˜€

  13. @Anu
    I was just about feeling better reading yur first comment…and then yu had to say you know HTML ?? πŸ˜›

    @Jagjit
    Welcome to AlphabetWorld! πŸ™‚
    Thanks…I have more senseless posts — which yu’ll find if you scroll down on the home page πŸ˜€

  14. Trust Nikhil to say he is so hurt for you taking a break while he himself has gone into rehab and just emerged out! Blog on and we are here to read your posts when you post them. Well, you got a post out of your goof up πŸ˜‰

  15. @Apar
    LOL…yeah!
    Thanks for being an understanding reader. πŸ™‚
    If i post about my goof ups, yu’ll have time only to read my blog all day, everyday! πŸ˜€

    @Burf
    Welcome to AlphabetWorld! πŸ™‚
    πŸ˜€ Well, I do look like that when i’m dumb/confused πŸ˜€

  16. Pingback: I’m getting married… « AlphabetWorld!

Leave a Reply

