two-thousand-eight to nine…

So far, the year’s been baaad! I stepped into the new year within the grips of a flu; then I re-joinedoffice and have made my life a living hell; I find myself in the presence of someone that petrifies me all day long (I do NOT mean my husband :D); have breakfast-less mornings; I get almost no time to blog — and am losing out on the blogging spirit 😦 ; Makara Sankranthi turned out to be Maaraka (dangerous) Sankranthi — the special Karnataka lunch left me food-poisoned; but worst of all, I saw Chandni Chowk to China (CCTC)! Sigh! 😦

chinese1

I hope the script here says "Don't watch Chandi Chowk To China"

I thought I was done falling prey to un-sahikkable Bollywood flicks with the death of 2008 — when I sat through 3 hours of torture, a.k.a. Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi. But apparently not! CCTC is living proof for the fact that Warner Bros can also go wrong. The film has once of the loosest script, irrelevant links of characters to one another; comic strips and dialogues that wouldn’t bring a laugh out of people even at gun-point (well, there were some funny one-liners, but countable within 5 fingers)… I just cannot believe Warner Bros agreed to making this movie! Apparently, they are afraid that it may fall prey to piracy. Have mercy!

There were a few scenes which made people sitting around me comment “This scene was not really necessary.” All I had to say to that (though I kept it to myself) was that “the entire film was not necessary.”

Well, now I know how the year is going to take it’s toll on me! God save me!

P.S.: Anyone who still wants to go watch it, please convince yourselves it’s going to be the worst ever film you ever saw. You just might not mind it too much, then! πŸ˜€ Do this, and you’ll be greatful to me! πŸ˜‰

21 thoughts on “two-thousand-eight to nine…

  1. about the ‘petrifying’ comment i guess ill wait till i meet ur hubby again ;P. & so u were “actually” food poisoned eh? Ahem! & dont worry you are losing out on blogging spirit ..u r blogging more than ‘us’ who claim to be pretty much in this world ;P! nd btw condolences n having watched cctc!

  2. @Reema
    Got tickets for the premiere. Of all the movies, this one! Talk about misfortune!

    @Rekha
    I saw it in a theatre! vyaaja cd would have made me feel much less miserable! πŸ˜€

    @Verbivore
    I repeat, I did NOT mean him πŸ˜€
    I actually did have tummy probs on tuesday — ate something remotely related to channa πŸ˜€ (am allergic to it)
    Me blogging more? Right!
    Thanks for the condolences. Means a lot! πŸ˜€

  3. howz ur health now?? losing out on bloggin spirit itself….get back soon would be waitin 2 hear from u πŸ™‚
    well….c2cc the idea that deepika was chosen 2 b a chinese girl…put me off!!

  4. I heard the review of CC2C on TV and decided not to even think of seeing it. Your review makes me sure of that!
    Breakfast less mornings? Gyaan for the day: Breakfast is the most important meal of the day! Don’t miss that one πŸ˜€

    You will get into a routine and we all will be dazzled by your alphabets as usual πŸ™‚

  5. LOLest! its been long since i just gave it upon bollywood! well, hope u hav learnt ur lesson well now!! :Pneways, dont worry so much. u’ll definitely get ur share of happiness n laughs n all for this year!

    cheers!

  6. @Harsh
    No! Don’t see it!!! πŸ˜€

    @Sahaja
    I’m fine now, thanks! She, as the Chinese, was ok. Everything else, was NOT ok! πŸ˜‰

    @Mindsparkle
    Really!? I really had wanted to see that one. Damn. Rahul Bose is going down fast on the metre, i say!

    @Apar
    Lucky you!
    Gyaan noted.
    Flattered (blushing!) πŸ˜‰

    @AV
    Some ppl never learn! I should’ve learnt after RNBDJ! πŸ˜€

    @Nikhil
    Now, your nonsense seems to have some sense! πŸ˜€

    @Kartz
    Thanks! πŸ˜€
    And, that romance part…didn’t quite get you there!

    @Oxy
    That someone was being extremely polite and dignified in use of words, i must say! πŸ˜†

  7. In a weeks time, CC2C would be available in my neighbourhood DVD store. Had an idea of watching this over the weekend. Never thought an Akshay moive could receive such bad reviews ! ‘Rabne whatever’ is better than this flick, is it? Gaaawwwd !

    @ Nikhil : Bollywood aint that bad buddy. Last year we had movies like A Wednesday, OLLO, Mithya, etc, Im sure even you would enjoy them.

  8. Stumbled on your blog through Smita’s. Good one, Miss:)

    Ha ha:)Hope the bad beginning of the year will end real soon. With CC2C now, even Deepika has a dud to her credit like Saawariya with Ranbir!

  9. Why in the name of your favourite God did you watch Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi? And about CCTC, well …. I was eagerly waiting for the film to release, but then, within a week of that happening, the unanimity of opinions generated by all who watched it made me skip this one. I thank people like you who saved three hours of my life! I sympathize, of course, but I also thank you! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

