Some more Pumbaastic updates :)

It’s been long since I wrote this about him; and boy, has he changed!

  • He is now a year and 5 months, almost; a grown(p)up 😉 but he refuses to acknowledge that. He still is (and looks like he always will be) a kid. 😛
  • He devours bananas. He takes—one at a time—from a bunch that’s kept on the fruit tray below the dining table, goes to his snack bar, peels it, eats it and leaves the skin there. The first time I saw this happening, I gaped. 😮
  • He eats dates, most carefully. He devours it like it’s the last morsel of food he’ll ever get—and then he slowly lowers his head and rolls out his tongue, from which will roll out a spotless date seed. 😮
  • He is no longer the aviyal-loving, curd-loving, give-me-anything-home-made-and-I-shall-eat sweet little thing. He has preferences. :-/
  • There are days when he just decides he does not want to eat on his own. So he’ll look at his plate, walk around, look at one of us, walk around…generally letting us know “I’m hungry, but I am not going to eat by myself”. When one of us (mostly mom or me, no one else falls for these :roll:) take it bit by bit and feed him like feeding a little kid, he finishes every morsel of food on his plate 🙄
  • When in one of his moods, he hunts out every single piece of chicken/beef/fish from the rice-meat mix we give him and leaves every grain of rice there! 😛
  • He does NOT appreciate Pedigree or anything similar for more than a day (or two, max!) at a time. 😐
  • The ONE thing he cannot stay away from, and drools till there’s a sea around him, is “the cake”! He cannot even control himself from jumping up and biting it right off your hand (without hurting you of course!) It always amazes us, his greed for cakes 😀
  • He understands every.single.thing we say about/to him. How he responds/obeys, is totally dependent on his mood though 🙄
  • The one command he obeys unconditionally is “Stay”. For every other command, he obeys or ignores based on the presence or absence of food in the commander’s hands 😀
  • When we ask him where his “toy” is, he scrambles all over the house like mad till he finds it. After that, he expects us to play with him till he tires out. And if we try to ignore him, he catches hold of our legs (one paw across a leg, holding it close to his head so we wont move!) and makes sure we say “OK, let’s play!” 🙂
  • Every time he comes with the toy to play, if we tell him “I have work, Pumbaa. I’ve to cook/eat/clean up. I’ll play with you after that”, he puts the toy down and lies beside it, following our every move. The moment that particular work is done, he comes to us with the toy, almost asking “You’re done now. Can we play?” 😀
  • We have different names for his toys, and he identifies each one when we ask for a specific one by name! 😀 [Yes, I know some kids who can do that :D]
  • He is in love! With pretty little “Twinkle”, a Beagle that stays in our neighbourhood. Well, I’m in love with her too! But this is like serious love! The minute she reaches close to our gate, she starts pulling on her leash and makes sure there’s a stop at our gate. As for Pumbaa, whatever he is doing right then, he ditches it all, and bounds down the stairs. Then there’s much kissing and licking and pawing from two sides of a gate. It’s the cutest sight. Really. And when Twinkle is led away and looks back forlornly, her owners promise to bring her the next day, and she lets out one tiny woof and goes off. Replay happens next day evening 😀
  • He gets extremely jealous if he sees any of us hugging/kissing someone other than him. Suraj hugs me, he jumps at Suraj. My brother hugs me, he jumps at my brother. My brother hugs my mother, he jumps at my brother. I hug my mother, he jumps at my mother 😉 OK…looks like my mom and I are his alone!
  • There are times when Suraj leashes him to our living room door (for too much mischief), and he lies down there patiently. Till he sees that I’ve sat down beside Suraj on the couch. He can no longer sleep, but he would still lie there, watching us all the time. I would then slowly lean on to Suraj…and Pumbaa would invariably sit up straight and let out pathetic whines. And then Suraj would put his arm around me and hold me close—and Pumbaa would be on his feet, whining, barking, pulling at his leash and being generally pissed off till we both say “OK…we won’t touch”. He then becomes quiet, and sits, but not quite happily, till I go pet him. He then goes off to sleep till I sit near Suraj the next time 😀
  • He thinks anyone except Amma is allowed to scold him. Amma, however, is his playmate. No matter what he does how, she is NOT supposed to scold. He sulks like mad if she does 😀
  • He sniffs our backsides all the time 😀 I read somewhere that that’s how dogs collect data/information about people. Why he has to collect data on the same people every time they get up from their seats, beats me! There are times we have to stand pressed to the wall and say “No, Pumbaa. No!” and he gives us a forlorn look and backs off. Not for long, though. He has even learnt to do it discreetly. The embarrassment, however, is when he sniffs and then blows his nose loudly and forcefully, shaking his head, like he just inhaled some hydrogen sulphide! 😀

That’s all for now. Waiting for him to finish off his 2-month vacation, to come back and give me fodder for more updates 😀 For certain people who “turn to mush seeing his pics”, here are some of the more recent pics on his very own page. Scroll right down 😉

48 thoughts on “Some more Pumbaastic updates :)

  1. Awww….he is simply adorable 😀 😀
    I have had pet dogs all my life so this post is all the more special for I have actually experienced all of the points here in one way or the other with my darling pets 😀
    I love Pumbaa’s page and his pics 😀

  2. Bless him .. 🙂 the pictures have come very nice and I ma sure when he comes back he will be more pampered so more lovely pictures 🙂

    The more i read the more i miss my pets back home I jsut dont have the guts to get them through all that quarantine and all the pallava that goes around , plus their life will be sort of cramped her in uk with a small garden wheras now they ahve FIELDs to run around ahhhhhhhhhhh the bad points of coming to u k

    • Thanks Bikram 🙂 Of course he will be!

      Yea…the mere thought makes me depressed! People soooo attached to their pets cannot do it 😦
      I know what you mean! Now that he’s at my home in Kerala, he’s got lotttts of place to gallop around 😀 chasing cats, chasing kids, chasing squirrels! 😀
      Here, he only gets to bark like mad at the erd of buffaloes that walk by our gate, or at the stray dogs on the street. Hehe. But well, no quarantine, so I’m definitely bringing him back 😀

  3. Can’t stop myself from saying Aww..he is a total cute! And louwe scene is so romantic!!
    Some of these points reminded me of my benzee…
    LOl at sniffing the back! The dog my aunt had used to do both back and front! Do all dogs do that! it’s very embarassing!!

    • Don’t stop…say all you want 😀
      Benzee…cute name 😉
      Hehehe…Well, it’s not embarrassing anymore unless there are guests, and he sniffs us/them and then blows his nose 😀 😀 THEN is embarrassing 😀 😀

  4. He is now a year and 5 months, almost; a grown(p)up but he refuses to acknowledge that. He still is (and looks like he always will be) a kid. — men will be men !!! 😛

    He devours bananas. He takes—one at a time—from a bunch that’s kept on the fruit tray below the dining table, goes to his snack bar, peels it, eats it and leaves the skin there. The first time I saw this happening, I gaped. — aa paavathinu ningalu ningalude vaanara swaabhaavam padippichu, alle ? 😛

    There are days when he just decides he does not want to eat on his own. So he’ll look at his plate, walk around, look at one of us, walk around… When one of us (mostly mom or me, no one else falls for these ) take it bit by bit and feed him like feeding a little kid, he finishes every morsel of food on his plate. He does NOT appreciate Pedigree or anything similar for more than a day (or two, max!) at a time. The ONE thing he cannot stay away from, and drools till there’s a sea around him, is “the cake”! He cannot even control himself from jumping up and biting it right off your hand valarthu dosham, allaaandey endhaa 😛

    He is in love! With pretty little “Twinkle”, a Beagle that stays in our neighbourhood. Then there’s much kissing and licking and pawing from two sides of a gate. It’s the cutest sight. Really. And when Twinkle is led away and looks back forlornly, her owners promise to bring her the next day, and she lets out one tiny woof and goes off. Replay happens next day evening He needs to see my video 😀

    He gets extremely jealous if he sees any of us hugging/kissing someone other than him. Suraj hugs me, he jumps at Suraj. My brother hugs me, he jumps at my brother. My brother hugs my mother, he jumps at my brother. I hug my mother, he jumps at my mother OK…looks like my mom and I are his alone! probably, he is against the concept of hugging. Crafty, you need to train somebody

    He sniffs our backsides all the time. The embarrassment, however, is when he sniffs and then blows his nose loudly and forcefully, shaking his head, like he just inhaled some hydrogen sulphide! again, valarthu dosham. ayyayayyeey..chey chey chey chey

    • Thendiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii (Mukesh style)…ninakku njaan vechittundu. Valarthu doshathinte kaaryamokke ingane public aayi parayallennu paranjittille?

      For his own good, he’s not even to KNOW that YOU exist in this world. Bah…ennittaa your video.

      And STOP making essays out of comments 😀 athinu spend cheyyunna time go write on your blog 😛

  5. I read all your points and burst out laughing at the last one. He really does that?! Blows his nose loudly! Hahaha. I can’t stop laughing.. Btw, you say. “He cannot even control himself from jumping up and biting it right off your hand (without hurting you of course!)” Please please tell him to teach that ‘without hurting you’ part to this vekili pidicha pennu here. Entammo, if one is not careful, she will make off with ones hand too while at it.
    Hugs to Pumbaa! 😀

  6. Here via the link Shail shared 🙂 Thanks Shail!! Would not have missed this for the world 🙂 🙂
    As Shail has written, the last point 🙂 Well with my Kuttan, (my naadan 🙂 ) it’s a wee bit more embarassing 😀 He has to sniff everyone’s frontsides :D! Gawd!!! And we have to push him away, and he obliges, but for a few seconds, well, one does feel red about the ears 😀 Lol!

    Pazham? He eats those? And dates? WTG Pumbaa 🙂 You are certified Mallu too, no matter what your genealogy says 😀

    I loved reading all of this… and imagined it, for most of it has happened, except for the fruits/dates part with me and my Chinnu 🙂

    • Welcome!! 🙂
      Oh Pumbaa does that too…but he prefers the backside more…I think it has to do with the fact that we don’t have eyes at the back of our heads, and can’t shoo him off quick enough, compared to if he prefers the front 😀

      Hehe…oh he does! There was a time when he’d have to have enough curd in his rice…and by the time he’s halfway through his meal and all the curd is gone, he comes and nudges one of us and goes back to his bowl, to say “More curd, pls”! 😀

      Awesome! Me wants to meet Chinnu! 🙂 Pumbaa would love it too (I’m hoping, coz he has a tendency to look for dark safe spots whenever he sees another dog 😀 Twinkle has been a revelation to us :D)

  7. I had a blast reading this. One of my dogs is 11 years and 9 months old and he *still* thinks he is a baby. The best way way he has found to make sure that we wont leave him and go away is to stand on one of our legs!

  8. You put them for me?? Little old MOI??? 😀 😀 😀

    Aaahhhhhhhhhh *melts into a puddle *
    I love love LOVEEEE Pumba’s puppy pics!!!!!!

    Now lemme go drool over them some more.

    Will come back to comment once I solidify from being a puddle! 😛

  9. Errr..I am scared of dogs…saachmein..pertrified infact 🙂

    But this one sure made me go Awwww! totally awww! loved the line about your Amma scolding him and he sulking 🙂 so cute

Leave a Reply

