the mobile phone and me…

…don’t really get along too well.

I don’t like talking on the phone much…and if you have a problem with that, I’m sorry I can’t help you. Well, perhaps I can (by attending your call), but I don’t plan to 😀  I guess I owe many people this explanation (though very few of these people read this blog :D; the other option is to text them all. And they may call back. Uh oh…)

I really am not avoiding you, okay? I’m just avoiding your call. Ouch — no, I’m just avoiding having to talk on the phone. Leave me a text message, leave me an offline chat, leave me a mail. I’ll respond, almost instantly, unless i’m sleeping, or unless the phone is like hidden under the cushion, pushed int here by the naughty lil’ Pumbaa. But if I see an SMS, I WILL respond; I cannot guarantee that about a missed call you leave me 😀 I just don’t like the mobile phone much.

thumbitisNot that I hate it or don’t use it. Just that I don’t use it for what it is meant. A mobile phone, for me, is essentially just a replacement for Gmail chat 😀 I am a person of few words…I talk very little even face-to-face and I generally prefer “talking” to someone through “chat”or “sms”. And on chat/sms, I can go on for hours together 😀

You wont believe it, but I ALWAYS rely on a text message to communicate with someone, before having to actually call that person up. Including emergency situations like being on a busy highway, at the signal, and wondering if we must turn left or right to reach that person’s house 😀 And when I’m blasted for being so dumb, I dial the number, press “Call” and instantly stick the phone to Suraj’s ear (or whoever else is driving)!

There is just ONE person (yes, person) with whom I can actually talk non-stop, for hours. And that is Pumbaa 😀 Well, he can’t talk back, and one of us has to do that. So, I happily do it 😀

There are very few people with whom I can talk non-stop, for hours, on the phone. One of them is Amma. The other is my brother. Then there are a couple of close friends. Recently, after a rather long conversation (if I may call it that), Hobbes asked me if I were “the same girl who hates talking on the phone?” 🙄 Well, that did leave me mumbling for a bit.

And I can’t tell you just how many times I’ve got into trouble with Suraj for never picking up his calls. Well, how will I know he’s calling when the phone is (eternally) on silent mode? [Who puts it on silent mode? Uh…I do.] Even before getting married, this was a constant problem. I guess it was the ONLY reason for our quarrels. He would call, I wouldn’t pick up. He’d call 10 more times. Then he would try my mom’s number, but I’d be at the aunt’s place. Then he’d call the aunt’s number — but by then, I’d have run back home (having realised that the phone has been abandoned somewhere, undoubtedly on silent mode, and that Suraj would be trying to get through to me). Finally, he would get through to me and blast me. I would silently hear him out, ask him if he’s done, and then hang up and go my way.

Except with Amma and my brother, I think I switch to listening-mode with most others 😀 And happily too. I’m better at listening than talking. Some people make it tough, because most of the ones who matter knows me well enough to continue doing the talking without much expectations 😉 Unless I’m completely comfortable with the person on the other side, even being on listening-mode is a pain. So, avoiding calls is the easiest thing to do.

I really don’t know why I talk so little — in general, and on the phone. There is one friend who calls me a chatterbox (really!), but well, I admit that I talk a LOT to him; well, I used to. To others, I think it is mainly because I keep thinking whatever I have to say or talk about will not be of much interest to the listener. Seriously 😀 I don’t know why I think so, but I do. I don’t say a lot of things, thinking it won’t be of any interest to that person, only to listen to something very similar coming from the other end 😀 And well, by then, whatever I could have said would have become stale ;)Well, I get into one of my PJ moods when some of my brother’s friends call…and I go on yap yapping for hours, till they hang up on me, threatening to kill me next time they see me. 🙄

So, basically, for me, a mobile phone is essentially just a replacement for Gmail chat 😀 And Winamp! I use it to text, and I use it to listen to my favourite music tracks. That is about it.

My first one was a Sony Ericsson w810i. I bought it because it came with the cutest, tiniest pair of external speakers 😉 (which incidentally wasn’t working, and I still have not used!). I loaded all my music into it, and was always plugged to my phone through earphones. An incoming call in the middle of a favourite song would piss me off — and I’d just disconnect the call! 😀 Yes, I used to be that bad. I was sooooo attached to that phone that despite being gifted a 160GB iPod, I refused to part with the walkman phone. I did not use the iPod for almost a year! I used this for over 4 years (it looks MIGHTY sad now, considering the number of times it has gone bouncing down the stairs, into rain puddles, on to the road, blah blah!) It served me verrrrry well, though 🙂

Finally, Suraj convinced me that I baaadly needed a new phone 🙄 I refused to exchange my w810. I would always want it, I said.

I bought the Sony Ericsson Xperia w8. Again, for the music. I HATED the fact that it was touchscreen! Texting someone became an ordeal. I actually began calling people! Bah. And then I got used to the touchpad, and now my phone is back to being a walkman, and a Gmail chat alternative 😉 And I like the fact that I can access Gmail chat also on it 😀 That’s about the ONLY reason I appreciate a smart phone now. It is quite smart 😀 Well, the w810i was smart too, but I wasn’t smart enough those days 😉Mobile phone stress relief

Poor thing, Suraj. New phone and all that, but it too has the silent mode thingy in-built! Oh well, I’m still the same, I guess. I still do not pick up calls 😀 Living in the same house makes it a little easier for him, I suppose. [And it does not help that he calls to remind me to do the many chores he assigns to me every morning, which I promptly forget 😦 Listen, if I forget it, perhaps I really do not want to do those 😀 ]

I still remember, how when we went to Coorg over a year back, there was no mobile connectivity at the homestay we stayed at. Was I thrilled! It was a real stress buster. No one called, no one texted, no one could contact me at all. Absolute “Yay” it was!! (Not that I’m always getting calls/text messages, but still) I was at peace, while Suraj freaked out. 😀

So why am I blabbering about all this now? Because recently, a couple of old college friends ganged up against me (okay, I’m exaggerating, but it was akin to ganging up alright. Bah!) for not keeping in touch. Well, I’m ALWAYS online — and none of you are! If you’re all always available on phone, why not give me a call? Er er…I mean, send me an sms 😀 Anyway, after explaining myself and brilliantly emerging as the innocent angel that I am, I’ve decided to give the single “ring-ring”s in loving remembrance henceforth 😀

However, all said and done, I have to say: the mobile phone and me…don’t really get along too well. 🙄 And I might even forget about the ring-ring agreement after a while. You are always in my mind, just believe that 😀 Was I any different at all when we met last weekend? 😀

Edited to add: Yay!! I’m not alone. She may be my soul sister 😀 I could easily have written this post!!

45 thoughts on “the mobile phone and me…

  1. That’s the Reason why you did not call me .. now I know :). and I like that silent mode well my fone is the same too , always on silent mode as I get so many fone calls etc .. so if i see it i pick it else LEAVE a message 🙂

    and lucky pumbaa 🙂

    Like

    • ROFL. Noooooooooooooooo !!! 😀
      well, its not that i get so many calls…its that i get VERY FEW calls, and i still dont like it much 😀

      hehe…if you listen to me talking to him for a while, you may not think he’s too lucky 😀

      Like

  2. Heheheh Priya i too second u.. I am also not at all friendly with mobile phones. My mobile phone will be always left at home..i too get scolding from husband and friends.
    I used to tell my hubby i don’t like using mobile much and even forget taking it to office
    So he say don’t think it’z a credit to say ” I hate using mobiles”..but true all have their own personal dislikes rght:)
    I too love chat rather that prolong dialogues over phone as we do 🙂 Ur Sony Ericsson set was with u when u were at SCMS rght? 🙂

    Any way stories apart blog is good. I loved it because it seemed like my story too apart from the fact that i’m a big chatter box if we see people face to face 🙂

    Like

  3. The other side: Hello
    Me: Hello, How are you?
    The other side: everything fine, how are you?
    Me: fine, thanks, so.. umm..what else..
    Other side: nothing..umm…wassup wid you?
    Me: nothing..how is it going?


    .
    This is how almost all my conversations on the phone are 😀 I can understand your situation, but I do have sympathy for Suraj.. I can understand his situation as well 😀

    Like

  4. Rsmom wrote something very similar recently. I think you read that one, right?

    An incoming call in the middle of a favourite song would piss me off — and I’d just disconnect the call!
    Ya that happens to me too!! 😀 😀 I just hate it 😡 I disconnect the call even if I am texting someone and the call comes in between! :mrgreen:

    But you seem to be the absolute extreme of not wanting to talk on the phone at all !!

    However from your post, I’m inclined to think it applies to only certain people…. 😛

    Like

  5. sigh !!! now I know why I ended up speaking a lot to your mom whenever I needed help in that scary house ! and the reason you gave me was “Im not the house owner, they are !!!” 🙄

    Kashtam-e-di ! aa kundraaandam pinne endinaa vedichu thannekkunnadu !!!! sigh; attaye pidichu methayil kidathiyaal, adu kidakkumo??? illaaa!!! hmmm…appo chodikkum, adu ariyaamengil attaye endinaa kidathaan nokkiyadu ennu !! 😛 😛 😛

    Im more like what Tanishka mentioned above ! I am a lot selective when it comes to calls; at times, I even avoid my parents calls ! It all depends on my mood ! If I am frustrated, or upset, I dont take calls; also, I dont pick calls when I am too happy ! 😀 😀 😀

    Like

    • ROFL…nooooo. That’s not entirely true. Well, maybe it is. YOU, of all people, will NOT be someone i want to talk to even face to face…appozhaa phone 😀 😛 (ee dialogue inganalla alle parayande..it shud be the other way around, for effect. enthaayaalum…kaaryam pidikitteele? :D)

      allelum attaye pidichu methe kedathiyaal…athinu kudikkaanulla chorayaaru kodukkum? 😮 (dialogue courtesy: Salim Kumar :D) athey…atta ninte…allenki venda…athu njaan text cheythu parayaam 😀

      well, i do that too…depends on what i’m doing. one thing is definite: if you call me in the middle of a favourite song — be it on phone, ipod, tv, radio, or even while i’m singing — i will NOT pick up 😀 no matter who it is 😀

      there are times suraj asks “what if thrs an emergency and they’re trying to call you?” and i always say “if its a emergency, they’ll text” and always get a frustrated “sammmmmmathikkanam ninne” as a reply 😀

      Like

      • I did expect a response from you on those lines !!! yeah, I did !! ningalkokke Johnny Depp tenant aayi varum, face to face samsaarikkaaan !!! 😀 😀

        ok, no more talks on atta !! those text exchanges were more than enough ! njaan endoru mmllechan aanennu enikku innu manasilaayi !!! 😛 😛 😛

        “sammmmmmathikkanam ninne” – I know what he actually means when he says that – “$#%#$#$$#$#@$#$” !!!! Paaavam Mr.Sun !!! ee oru janmathilu endokke kaananam, endokke sahikkanam. Actually angere aanu ‘sammadikkandadhu’ !!!! 😀 😀 😀

        Like

  6. Even I am not very fond of talking on phone…. I do that only with my mom & dad.
    I prefer keeping my conversations short… preferably single syllable… But being in a job I have to get into calls which last for hours at stretch…. 😦

    Like

  7. Oops I feel sorry for your poor husband…how much anxiety you must have caused me before you guys got married! 😛 I am not a huge phone addict either and detest talking on the phone for more than twenty seconds to all but a couple of people. 😀

    Like

  8. After a long time, I’ve seen someone who say that they don’t use mobile phone a lot – for talking per se. I am just opposite to you. Cannot live a minute without mobile. But the no of calls that I make or talk over the phone has drastically reduced…may be bcause of the geographic locations. Albeit I talk atleast for 1.5 hours every day. Believe me..before marriage..S and I have spoked over the phone for non-stop 30 hours! and before marriage, It was a regular ordeal for me to chat over phone for min 1 hour with one friend atleast! But..the similarity is…I don’t pick up S’s phone most of the times …psst..not intentionally 😦

    Like

    • Hehehehe…i’m scared when people like yu all 😛 😀 😀

      Before marriage, suraj wud call me at night, i’ll fix the phone between my ear and the pillow, listen for a while, talk for a bit, hmm for sometime and go off to sleep 😀

      hehe…i ignored that, do not worry 😀

      Like

  9. Hmmm..same is the condition with my hubby..he’s been lucky to have got iPhone 4 from his wifey..but you call him anytime…I bet he would not receive the call n first go…his phone lies on ne corner of office/ome and he is in some other corner engrossed n his work 😉 there are times when I really get pissed off by this nature of him…

    Like

  10. Pingback: Day 13: Phone like a baby… | AlphabetWorld!

  11. OMG!! You dont like talking on phones!! But I can relate to this because I was just like this till a few years ago. But then it changed, may be because of my work. I think we can ‘talk’ more about this topic when we meet. 😀

    Like

Leave a comment